LibGuides: Online Texts for Program Readings: Philosophy & Theology Segment

Online Texts

This is a guide with links to full-text/audio resources of program works. Below is a list of databases with full-text sources and audio recordings. For help accessing these resources, please contact Catherine Hines, Library Director at 410-626-2550 or catherine.hines@sjc.edu.

Digital Loeb Classical Library

more...

Early Modern Texts

more...

Naxos Spoken Word Library

more...

Open Library (Internet Archive)

more...

Project Gutenberg

more...

Aristotle

Work	Online Resources
De anima / On the Soul	Trans. W. S. Hett (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. R. D. Hicks (Internet Archive) Trans. J. A. Smith (JSTOR) Read by Geoffrey Edwards; Trans. R. D. Hicks (LibriVox)
Metaphysics	Trans. W.D. Ross (JSTOR) Trans. Hugh Tredennick (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Vol. 1 (Books I-IX) Vol. 2 (Books X-XIV)
Physics	Trans. R. P. Hardie and R. K. Gaye (JSTOR) Trans. Richard Hope (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Philip Wicksteed (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Vol. 1 (Books I-IV) Vol. 2 (Books V-VIII)

The Bible

Work	Online Resources
The Bible	Full Bible Texts (Christian Bible) King James Version (Project Gutenberg) Various Translations (Bible Gateway) Various Translations (interlinear with Hebrew and Greek; Bible Hub) Full Tanakh Texts (Hebrew Bible or Old Testament) Various Translations (Sefaria) New Testament-Only Texts Read by James Earl Jones; King James Version (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Hume, David

Work	Online Resources
An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding	Project Gutenberg Read by Hugh Ross (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Kierkegaard, Søren

Work	Online Resources
Philosophical Fragments	Trans. Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong (JSTOR) Trans. David F. Swenson; Revised by Howard V. Hong (Religion Online)

Plato

Work	Online Resources
Meno	Trans. G. M. A. Grube (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Project Gutenberg) Trans. W. R. M. Lamb (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library)

Augustine, Saint

Work	Online Resources
Confessions	Trans. Carolyn J. -B. Hammond (with Latin; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Vol. 1 (Books I-VIII) Vol. 2 (Books IX-XIII) Trans. Edward. B. Pusey (Project Gutenberg) Read by Bernard Mayes; Trans. Edward B. Pusey (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Mark Meadows; Trans. R. S. Pine-Coffin (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Decartes, Rene

Work	Online Resources
Meditations	Trans. Elizabeth S. Haldane (Yale University) Trans. John Veitch (Online Library of Liberty–found about 3/5 of the way down the page) Read by Adam James; Translator Unknown (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Mark Meadows; Trans. Elizabeth S. Haldane and John Veitch (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Kant, Immauel

Work	Online Resources
Foundation of Metaphysics of Morals or Grounding for the Metaphysics of Morals	Trans. Lewis W. Beck (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Mary Gregor (Campus Press) Trans. Allen W. Wood (Internet Archive)
Prolegomena to any Future Metaphysics	Trans. Paul Carus; Revised by James W. Ellington (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing)

Nietzsche, Friedrich

Work	Online Resources
Beyond Good and Evil	Trans. Judith Norman (Internet Archive) Trans. Helen Zimmern (Internet Archive) Trans. Helen Zimmern (Project Gutenberg) Read by Alex Jennings; Trans. Ian Johnston (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Thomas, Aquinas, Saint

Work	Online Resources
Summa Theologiae	First Part of the Second Part Trans. Fathers of the Dominican Province (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Fathers of the Dominican Province (Thomistic Institute) Corpus Thomisticum (Latin)