Skip to main content

Library Services & Policies: Other Policies

Food & Drink

The Greenfield Library does not permit food of any kind in the library. Drinks in secure, closed containers are permitted. Drinks that are not secure include the following: drinks without lids, open coffee cups, bottles without caps, and soda cans. Beverages in any container are prohibited in the new program and reference rooms. Please help the Greenfield Library protect its collection for present and future generations by adhering to the food and drink policy.

Cell Phone

The use of cell phones is prohibited in the library. We ask that patrons turn off cell phones or set them to silent or vibrate before entering the building. If patrons need to make or take a call, we ask that they please step outside to do so.

Pet Policy

Pets are not permitted on campus; therefore they are also not permitted in the library. Only animals assisting those with disabilities are allowed into the library.

User Privacy

Greenfield Library holds forth that the privacy of all users shall be respected in compliance with federal and state laws, and in accordance with professional standards. Our policies conform to the professional code of ethics established by the American Library Association, which states "We protect each library user's right to privacy and confidentiality with respect to information sought or received and resources consulted, borrowed, acquired, or transmitted." Greenfield Library will not release personal information gathered or collected by the library except to the extent permitted or required by law.

Circulation and Interlibrary Loans: We comply with the laws of the state of Maryland regarding user privacy. The library will not allow inspection, use of, or disclosure of any user's circulation record in the course of the library's ordinary business. Requesters of interlibrary loan/document delivery receive the same protection in terms of confidentiality of their requests. For reasons of auditing, copyright compliance or other regulations, documentation of interlibrary loan requests are retained in accordance with the library's and the college's record management policy. The current retention schedule for ILL records is three years. Current circulation records are maintained only. In addition to Maryland law, student records are protected by federal privacy laws (FERPA). Please refer to the policy set forth by the registrar's office.

Reference/Reader Services: Reference requests are confidential, and information about individuals using these services will not be shared outside the library. Library staff will not reveal the identity of library users, the nature of inquiries or the sources consulted except to the extent permitted or required by law.

Collection Development: Purchase recommendations, gifts-in-kind, special requests, etc. are valued by the library, and viewed as important aids in building the collection. Purchase and related collection development requests are considered confidential. Within the library for the purposes of providing services and tracking purchases, user names are temporarily associated with internal records. Once the process is completed, there is no retention of permanently identifiable information related to acquisitions and collection development.

Gift Donations

The collection development policy of Greenfield Library is tightly focused to support the unique great books program at St. John's College, Annapolis. Likewise, the library guidelines for the acceptance of gifts are thoughtfully structured. Unsolicited gifts may or may not be acknowledged. The library director is responsible for the decisions concerning all book donations. The library accepts scholarly and literary books that support the mission of the college, and that are compatible with the college's library collection development policy. The library does not accept donations of magazines, periodicals, textbooks, popular paperbacks, or books in deteriorated condition.

It is the responsibility of the donor to count and to list the book titles to be received by the library. It is also the responsibility of the donor to deliver, or to arrange delivery with the library director of, the donated books as well as to cover the costs of shipping and transport. Delivery in person must be made during the regular work hours (Monday–Friday, 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.). Anyone wishing to donate books should call the library director at 410-626-2550.

The library reserves the right to decide the future use of all donations. These uses include but are not limited to the integration into our collection, inclusion in our books sales, or in some circumstances, trades with other libraries.

The I.R.S. requires that the college as gift recipient take no part in appraising the gift's value. All potential donors are encouraged to have an appraisal performed for tax purposes prior to delivery of the books. If a donor wishes to have an appraisal performed, the library director will be able to provide names of appraisers in the Washington, D.C.-Baltimore area. However, in providing these names, the college endorses no appraiser, takes no responsibility in the appraisal, nor provides funds for such. All appraisals must be complete prior to the gift transfer to Greenfield Library.

It is requested that potential donors provide all the information they will need regarding the status of their donation before the transfer of any books. The Library Director will acknowledge in writing all gifts received. If an official receipt is desired, the donor is requested to advise the library director before the gift is donated. This receipt will be issued from our Advancement office.