This is a guide with links to full-text/audio resources of program works. Below is a list of databases with full-text sources and audio recordings. For help accessing these resources, please contact Catherine Hines, Library Director at 410-626-2550 or catherine.hines@sjc.edu.
| Digital Loeb Classical Library | Early Modern Texts | Naxos Spoken Word Library | Open Library (Internet Archive) | Project Gutenberg |
| Date | Reading | Online Resources |
|---|---|---|
| August 22 |
Homer: Iliad I-VI |
Trans. A. T. Murray (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. Alexander Pope (Project Gutenberg) Read by Anthony Heald; Trans. W. H. D. Rouse (Naxos Spoken Word Library–includes Odyssey) Read by Anton Lesser; Trans. Ian Johnston (Naxos Spoken Word Library) |
| August 26 |
Homer: Iliad VII-XII |
(see August 22 links) |
| August 29 |
Homer: Iliad XIII-XVIII |
(see August 22 links) |
| September 2 |
Homer: Iliad XIX-XXIV |
(see August 22 links) |
| September 5 |
Homer: Odyssey I-VIII |
Trans. A. T. Murray (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. Alexander Pope (Project Gutenberg) Read by Anthony Heald; Trans. W. H. D. Rouse (Naxos Spoken Word Library–includes Iliad) Read by Anton Lesser; Trans. by Ian Johnston (Naxos Spoken Word Library) |
| September 9 |
Homer: Odyssey IX-XVI |
(see September 5 links) |
| September 12 |
Homer: Odyssey XVII-XXIV |
(see September 5 links) |
| September 16 | Plato: Meno |
Trans. G. M. A. Grube (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Project Gutenberg) Trans. W. R. M. Lamb (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) |
| September 19 |
Aeschylus: Agamemnon |
Complete Oresteia Texts (Agamemnon, Libation Bearers, and Eumenides)
Agamemnon-Only Texts
|
| September 27 | Aeschylus: Libation Bearers; Eumenides |
(see September 19 links)
|
| September 26 |
Plato: Gorgias 447A-481B |
Trans. Walter Hamilton (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Project Gutenberg) Trans. W. R. M. Lamb (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) |
| September 30 |
Plato: Gorgias 481B-end |
(see September 26 links) |
| October 3 |
Plutarch: Lives 'Lycurgus'; 'Solon' |
Trans. John Dryden (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Bernadotte Perin (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Read Bernard Mayes; Trans. John Dryden (Naxos Spoken Word Library)
|
| October 7 |
Herodotus: History I; II: 50-53, 112-120; III: 37-38, 66-87 |
Trans. A. D. Godley (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. G. C. Macaulay (Project Gutenberg) Read by Bernard Hayes; Translator Unknown (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by David Timson; Translator Unknown (Naxos Spoken Word Library) |
| October 10 |
Herodotus: History V: 105; VI: 48-120; VII (entire) |
(see October 7 links) |
| October 14 |
Herodotus: History VIII; IX |
(see October 7 links)
|
| October 17 |
Plato: Republic I-II 367E |
Trans. Chris Emlyn-Jones (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Project Gutenberg) Read by Pat Bottino; Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Naxos Spoken Word Library) |
| October 21 |
Plato: Republic II 367E-IV 427C |
(see October 17 links) |
| October 24 |
Plato: Republic IV 427D-VI 502C |
(see October 17 links) |
| October 28 |
Plato: Republic VI 502D-VII |
(see October 17 links) |
| October 31 |
Plato: Republic VIII-IX |
(see October 17 links) |
| November 4 |
Plato: Republic X |
(see October 17 links) |
| November 7 | Aristophanes: Clouds |
Trans. Jeffrey Henderson (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. William J. Hickie (Project Gutenberg) Internet Archive (Greek; Ed. Lewis L. Forman) |
| November 11 | Plato: Apology; Crito |
Trans. Henry Cary (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Chris Emlyn-Jones and William Preddy (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Read by Pat Bottino; Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Naxos Spoken Word Library)
|
| November 14 |
Plato: Phaedo 57A-84B |
Trans. Henry Cary (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Chris Emlyn-Jones and William Preddy (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Read by Pat Bottino; Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Naxos Spoken Word Library)
|
| November 18 |
Plato: Phaedo 84B-118B |
(see November 14 links) |
| November 21 |
Sophocles: Oedipus Tyrannus |
Trans. Francis Storr (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Lewis Campbell (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Hugh Lloyd-Jones (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library)
Trans. Hugh Lloyd-Jones (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library)
Read by John F.C. Richards Translator Unknown Read in Greek; (Naxos Spoken Word Library
|
| November 25 |
Sophocles: Oedipus at Colonus |
(see November 21 links) |
| December 2 |
Sophocles: Antigone |
(see November 21 links) |
| December 5 |
Euripides: Medea
|
Trans. Gilbert Murray (Project Gutenberg) Trans. David Kovacs (Digital Loeb Classical Library) |
| December 9 |
Plato: Symposium beginning-198A |
Trans. Chris Emlyn-Jones and William Preddy (with Greek; Digital Loeb Classical Library) Trans. Benjamin Jowett (Project Gutenberg) Read by David Shaw-Parker et al.; Trans. Tom Griffith (Naxos Spoken Word Library) |
| December 12 |
Plato: Symposium 198-end |
(see December 9 links) |