LibGuides: Online Texts for Program Readings: Junior Readings

Online Texts

This is a guide with links to full-text/audio resources of program works. Below is a list of databases with full-text sources and audio recordings. For help accessing these resources, please contact Catherine Hines, Library Director at 410-626-2550 or catherine.hines@sjc.edu.

Digital Loeb Classical Library

more...

Early Modern Texts

more...

Naxos Spoken Word Library

more...

Open Library (Internet Archive)

more...

Project Gutenberg

more...

Articles of Confederation / Declaration of Independence / Federalist / U. S. Constitution

Work	Online Resoruces
Articles of Confederation	Library of Congress U.S. Code–U.S. House of Representatives
Declaration of Independence	Library of Congress National Archives
The Federalist	Library of Congress Project Gutenberg Read by Michael Edwards (Naxos Spoken Word Library)
U.S. Constitution	U.S. Constitution (without Amendments) Library of Congress National Archives U.S. Constitution (with Complete Amendments) United States Senate Complete Amendments to the U.S. Constitution GovInfo Amendments 1-10 (Bill of Rights) National Archives Amendments 11-27 National Archives

Cervantes, de Miguel

Work	Online Resources
Don Quixote	Trans. John Ormsby (Project Gutenberg) Read by Roy McMillan (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Trans. Tobias Smollet (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Eliot, George

Work	Online Resources
Middlemarch	Internet Archive Project Gutenberg Read by Nadia May (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Juliet Stevenson (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Hume, David

Work	Online Resources
Treatise of Human Nature	Online Library of Liberty Project Gutenberg

Leibniz, Gottfried Wilhelm

Work	Online Resources
Discourse on Metaphysics	Trans. George R. Montgomery (Internet Archive)
Philosophical Essays	Trans. Roger Ariew & Daniel Garber
Principles of Nature and Grace; Monadology; Philosophical Essays	Mondalogy Trans. George R. Montgomery (Internet Archive)

Milton, John

Work	Online Resources
Paradise Lost	Project Gutenberg Read by Anton Lesser (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Ralph Cosham (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Work	Online Resources
Don Giovanni	Recordings Conduct. Carlo M. Giulini (Internet Archive) Conduct. Hans Rosbaud (Internet Archive) Conduct. Andrew Davis (Lyric Opera of Chicago)

Rousseau, Jean-Jacques

Work	Online Resources
Discourse on the Origins of Inequality	Trans. G. D. H. Cole (Online Library of Liberty–found halfway down the page) Trans. G. D. H. Cole (Project Gutenberg–found 2/3 of the way down the page) Trans. Donald A. Cress (Internet Archive–found on page 25; hourly borrowing) Read by Neville Jason; Trans. Ian Johnston (Naxos Spoken Word Library)
Social Contract	Trans. G. D. H. Cole (Online Library of Liberty) Trans. G. D. H. Cole (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Donald A. Cress (Internet Archive–found on page 139; hourly borrowing) Read by Neville Jason; Trans. Ian Johnston (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Spinoza, Baruch

Work	Online Resources
Ethics	Trans. R. H. M. Elwes (Project Gutenberg)

Austen, Jane

Work	Online Resources
Pride and Prejudice	Internet Archive Project Gutenberg Read by Emilia Fox (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Carolyn Seymour (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Decartes, Rene

Work	Online Resources
Meditations	Trans. Elizabeth S. Haldane (Yale University) Trans. John Veitch (Online Library of Liberty–found about 3/5 of the way down the page) Read by Adam James; Translator Unknown (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Mark Meadows; Trans. Elizabeth S. Haldane and John Veitch (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Hobbes, Thomas

Work	Online Resources
Leviathan	Online Library of Liberty Project Gutenberg Read by James Adams (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Peter Wickham (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Kant, Immanuel

Work	Online Resources
Critique of Pure Reason	Trans. J. M. D. Meiklejohn (Project Gutenberg) Trans. Max Müller (Online Library of Liberty)
Foundation of the Metaphysics of Morals / Grounding for the Metaphysics of Morals	Trans. Lewis W. Beck (Internet Archive–hourly borrowing) Trans. Mary Gregor (Campus Press) Trans. Allen W. Wood (Internet Archive)

Locke, John

Work	Online Resources
Second Treatise of Government	Complete Two Treatises of Government Texts Internet Archive Online Library of Liberty Second Treatise of Government-Only Texts Internet Archive Project Gutenberg

Molière

Work	Online Resources
Misanthrope	Trans. Curtis Page (Wikisource) Trans. Richard Wilbur (English Verse; Internet Archive–edition includes 'Tartuffe') ARTFL (French) Project Gutenberg (French; Project Gutenberg–found 1/4 of the way down the page)

Pascal, Blaise

Work	Online Resources
Pensées	French Edition (Internet Archive) Trans. W. F. Trotter (Project Gutenberg) Trans. W. F. Trotter (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by William Sutherland (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Smith, Adam

Work	Online Resources
Wealth of Nations	Internet Archive Online Library of Liberty Read by Michael Edwards (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Swift, Jonathan

Work	Online Resources
Gulliver's Travels	Internet Archive Project Gutenberg Read by Jasper Britton (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Pamela Garelick (Naxos Spoken Word Library)

Twain, Mark

Work	Online Resources
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn	Library of Congress Project Gutenberg Read by Garrick Hagon (Naxos Spoken Word Library) Read by Tom Parker (Naxos Spoken Word Library)